The way that the MOT test works in England, Scotland and Wales will change from Sunday 20 May 2018.
(The MOT test works differently in Northern Ireland.)
The changes will affect cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles.
1. Defects will be categorised differently
Defects found during the MOT will be categorised as either:
• dangerous
• major
• minor
The category the MOT tester gives each item will depend on the type of problem and how serious it is.
MOT testers will still give advice about items you need to monitor. These are known as ‘advisories’.

2. There will be stricter limits for emissions from diesel cars with a diesel particulate filter (DPF).
A DPF captures and stores exhaust soot to reduce emissions from diesel cars.
Check your car’s handbook if you don’t know if your car has a DPF.
Your vehicle will get a major fault if the MOT tester:
• can see smoke of any colour coming from the exhaust
• finds evidence that the DPF has been tampered with

3. Some new items will be tested during the MOT.
They include checking:
• if tyres are obviously underinflated
• if the brake fluid has been contaminated
• for fluid leaks posing an environmental risk
• brake pad warning lights and if brake pads or discs are missing
• reversing lights on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009
• headlight washers on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009 (if they have them)
• daytime running lights on vehicles first used from 1 March 2018 (most of these vehicles will have their first MOT in 2021 when they’re 3 years old)